Counting on my fingers. No computer!

Not everyone is an Euler (Leonhard Euler, Swiss Mathematician, 1707-1783) or a Gauss (Johann Carl Friedrich Gauss, German Mathematician, 1777-1855).

I, for example, still fall into a deep pit when I approach certain areas of the multiplication table. I need to stay away from 7 x 8, for example, but this is not always possible.

It’s my own secret insecurity (until I just posted my confession). Anyone young enough to wear pants falling off their backside may not be as troubled by weaknesses in sums or the ‘times tables.’ After all, there’s a calculator for that.  There’s an app for that.

I am working on a problem right now that I’m attempting with only a pen, paper, and a calculator for the addition operations. It is the first problem posed on the website, Project Euler. net.

The problem asks what is the sum of all numbers divisible by 3 and 5,  up to but not including 1,000.

There’s a perhaps-apocryphal story about the schoolboy Gauss that places him in a math class. Stop me if you’ve heard this one before:

The teacher told the class to add all the integers from 1 to 100. Gauss took less than a minute to compute the sum and then put his pencil down. The teacher was, I suppose, making ‘busy work’ for the class while he worked on other things, so he noticed Gauss’ gesture of finality at once. He looked at Gauss’s answer – correct! Gauss had paired all the number from 1 to 100 with corresponding numbers 100 to 1.  Each pair yielded the same sum: 101. There were 50 such sums. Multiplying 50 times 101 gave the product: 5050.

Done and done!

In real life, I can’t stand people who do things like that. They sit back in their chair while the rest of the class grinds away at sums. They beam with confidence – oh, how I wish I could give the young Gauss a smack right now!

But I digress. I’m working on the Project Euler problem and imagine this: I have my shoes and socks off just in case I need those toes! A Gauss I will never be.  Nor an Euler (pronounced ‘oiler’) unless I’m  making spanakopita!

About eulerandothers

student,mom,wife
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Counting on my fingers. No computer!

  1. Lerner says:

    Greetings! When I’d seen Vibram shoes (they have toes built in, like gloves instead of mittens), I’d thought they were a trendy Paleo thing. But I see now they might really be for math instead 🙂

Leave a Reply

